Book Surprise

Two weeks ago, I stopped by Meridian Gallery to drop off my art work for an upcoming intern’s reunion art show. To my surprise, the gallery was having a book workshop at that time. It was the “Gertrude Stein and her Contemporaries” book workshop, a collection from Dickran Tashjian, Professor Emeritus of Art History, UC Irvine. I work at the library and have a background in book conservation, therefore I am always thrill to view rare and special book collection. Prof. Tashjian showed me some wonderful children’s illustrated books, circus pop-ups, and many fascinating art books. The books were definitely eye candy for me! I was able to touch them and examine them up close. What’s more of a surprise is I meet his daughter, who is also a book conservator! I never meet anyone outside the library with the same unique skilled profession. And yep she knows my teacher too! What a small world!

Yip took some pictures of the workshop:

Meridian Gallery is located in Downtown San Francisco. Check out their Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/MeridianGallery for upcoming events. They have lots of wonderful exhibits and shows. I’ll be back there in two weeks! Come and see a few of my personal artwork.

Leave a Reply

