Citrus kind of Pie

There is a pie eating party at work on March 14, 1:59PM meaning π = 3.141592653… It’s Pi Day! This awesome nerdy holiday, a played on numbers, is simply fun and quirky. Co-workers bring their favorite pies to share and I get to sample a delicious slice of everything. Yum! How will you be celebrating Pi Day? Doing math home work? Or watch a movie/tv episode about π/pies? (I recommend a cute tv show called Pushing Daisies, about a pie maker who can bring the dead to life.)

Pies are one of my favorite desserts. However, pies can be quite labor intensive to make, especially on a weekday. If you are determine to make something special, may I suggest this simple pie-like recipe, great with season fruits and yummy enough for celebrating. A crostata is a different kind of pie, actually like a tart. It is an Italian baked dessert with a buttery pastry filled with jam, cream, or fruit. Right now, blood oranges are in season, so I found a beautiful recipe and gave it a go. This dessert has warm red colors and baked citrus flavors with sweet Italian cream cheese in a casual rustic style. Sounds interesting right?

Pinwheel Blood Orange Crostatas
Recipe adapted from theKitchn
(makes 6-8 individual tart)

Crust
1½ cup flour
1/2 tsp salt
3 tb sugar
1 stick butter (chilled & cubed)
2 tb ice water
1 egg (beaten)
Sprinkle of raw sugar

Fruit & Filling
2 blood orange (slice into wheel shape)
1 orange (slice into wheel shape) – I used grapefruit.
8 oz. (1 tube) mascarpone cheese
2 tb sugar
1/4 tsp vanilla
________________________________________

Preparing Fruit & Mascarpone Creme Filling:
1. Slice citrus fruit into wheel shapes and separating segments for triangle shapes.
2. With hand mixer, combine mascarpone cheese, sugar, and vanilla.

Making crust:
3. Mix flour, salt, sugar  and combine flour mixture with butter. You may use a food processor.  I mix it with my hands, squeezing and crumbling the dough until the flour and butter are evenly distributed into each other.
4. Add ice water and mix in with dough.
5. Form dough into ball, refrigerate for 20 min.
6. Divide dough into 6-8 balls.
7. Roll dough balls ~ 1/4″ thick and ~4-6″ diameter. Don’t need to worry about perfect edges. Place discs on parchment paper.

Arrangement & Baking:
8. Spread creme filling in middle of dough disc.
9. Arrange fruits, alternating colors to create a pinwheel.
10. Fold dough edges around covering half the fruit arrangement.
11. Refrigerate crostatas for half an hour.
12. When ready to bake, brush with egg wash and sprinkle on raw sugar.
13. Bake 375 degrees about 30 min. or until golden brown. Cool and top with creme.

 

Special message from sweet ipomoea: First time being Freshly Pressed! Thank you all for the likes, comments, and follows! It is so exciting to hear from people from all over the world! Thank you for your kindness! :D

81 Comments to “Citrus kind of Pie”

  1. ok… is blood orange another word for grapefruit? either way, the pie looks tasty!

    • Oh, no. Blood oranges are quite different! In my land we have quite a lot of blood oranges and a few grapefuits. I saw a grapefruit orange crostata just today and I asked the blogger if I could not add grapefruits, difficult to find here…

  2. What an absolutely creative approach to pi/e day — LOVE it!

    Blood oranges crack me up … so yummy, but equally intimidating to me just based on the name alone. I typically try not to eat anything with the word “blood” in its name … but I’d make an exception for these!
    ;)

  3. Looks yummy. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!
    Kathy

  4. That sounds like my kind of party! These look so good!

  5. Wow freshly pressed!!! Awesome :D Thank you for the comments and likes!

    Blood oranges are great! They are not bitter like grapefruits. They taste like oranges and said to have a hint of raspberry flavor. Certainly the name comes from deep red color of the fruit. I agree the word “blood” and food sounds intimidating.

    Still waiting until 1:59pm for the pie party to start! Yay!

  6. Looks so good. Thanks for sharing the goodies. Connie

    http://7thandvine.wordpress.com/

  7. Blood oranges when first discovered were considered the testes of El Diablo. No joke, I saw it in a transcript written down by a mad Russian. No idea why he wrote in Spanish. These look awesome and delicious, by the way.

  8. These look delicious! Fresh and summery too. Yum!

  9. This might me my new favourite recipe on the entire planet. Thank you.

  10. Gotta say, they do look good. They look interesting enough where I’d eat one with a cup of tea. Just perfect.

    val
    http:valentinedefrancis.wordpress.com

  11. I find blood oranges not have much taste. It might just be what we get around here though. They look wonderful though. I might try this in all grapefruit or orange unless I can find some tasty blood oranges. It looks delicious!

  12. Yum this looks awesome! Stop by and say hi :)

  13. Those look amazing! Hooray for Pi Day.

  14. Looks awesome! Makes me want to find some blood oranges! In the book series that includes “A Game of Thrones” the author talks about blood oranges, I thought he made them up! :-D

  15. Those look splendid and I love the presentation …nicely done :)

  16. beautiful pictures. great recipe.

  17. I like sweet pies, like this:)

  18. I loved the idea of the Pi holiday, and, of course, your recipe. I have a great nearby to buy the crust, so I may get it just before dinner to try it soon! Thanks for sharing.

  19. I can’t wait to try this! Thanks for this awesome recipe!

  20. Oooh… I love the vivid coloring on your photographs. Hope pi day was as delicious for you as it was for me!

  21. Also wanted to recommend my favourite movie Waitress. Pie plays a big role in the movie.

  22. I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award! Congratulations! Please see my link: http://beyondconfessions.wordpress.com/2012/03/15/versatile-blogger-award/.
    Sincerely, Beyondconfessions

  23. Whoa. This citrus thing sounds amazing. It also makes me feel like I could have made my pre-pie day Santorum Frothy Chocolate Cream Pie look more appetizing.

    http://apocalypsecakes.wordpress.com/2012/03/13/president-santorum-frothy-chocolate-cream-pie/

  24. Hell yes! I save all recipes that people post about on the freshly pressed page, and give them to my fiance. SHE WILL MAKE ALL THE GOOD LOOKING FOODS FOR ME.

  25. They look and sound fantastic! Pi day = Pie day, perfect.

    I miss blood oranges. They’re hard to find where I live now, but as a teenager I used to eat them a lot.

  26. Looks delicious. I’m bettin’ a nice glass of wine would go well with this!

  27. I would have never thunk of a blood orange being used as a baked good. This looks very tempting.
    Thanks for sharing your creativity!!!
    Rita

  28. These look too pretty to eat…almost :-)

  29. Awesome looking recipe! I love Blood Oranges, when they are in season we use them at my restaurant to make a jelly that goes with our raw oysters. It’s fantastic!

  30. Hmmm….it seems that somebody is crazy about cooking. The blog and the dish served here is too very delicious. It is so yummy.

  31. the pie looks great (:

  32. wow. sounds and looks yummy

  33. If only I´d seen this earlier – is it too late to celebrate pi day?

    Crostatas look fantastic, I´d have never thought about using grapefruit as a filling – looks like a fun idea to try!

  34. Pie eating party sounds pretty good to me! :) Yummy Yummy

  35. Reblogged this on bronwynschroeder and commented:
    nnmmpie.

  36. Any other fruit to be substituted for Blood Oranges? Family member can’t eat them [Doctor's orders if I remember correctly]

  37. I love blood oranges, but they’re so difficult to get here. Your crostatas look delicious!

  38. Beautiful photos ¡¡¡ I may try the recipe :)

  39. Your pictures came out beautiful. I will definitely try this recipe. It looks so fresh and delicious. Check out mine!! sweetlifegonehealthy.wordpress.com/

  40. Cool! I work in the produce department of a grocery store and we carry blood oranges, although they don’t sell so well. I haven’t eaten many myself, but I’ll be sure to try this recipe!

  41. I can’t believe I missed Pi day :)

    Thanks for your post, looks great. On another note, blood orange marmalade is divine :)

    Paige.

  42. These look so delicious!

  43. I would actually sprinkle salt on top! They look beautiful!!

  44. Yum, these look so delicious! I absolutely love the color of the blood oranges. What a beautiful dessert!

    Halie

  45. Blood oranges are a wonderful treat when they’re in season. Did you know that you can “listen” to Pi? It’s true!

  46. Beautiful pie! Looks delicious.

  47. Looks really good. i love blood oranges.

    here is my blog check it out.

    http://thedessertshop.wordpress.com/

  48. I like very much your photos. They do more delicious! Congrats!!

  49. This sounds – and looks – ridiculously good!

  50. Your pastry looks flaky and delish! And the color of the filling is eye candy.

  51. Nice recipe. Doesn’t require a ton of sugar. :)

  52. ooo, I really like to bake and such so I might just try it out…looks yummy!

  53. Love these, they look really delicious!

  54. This is amazing recepie…thanks for sharing

  55. Scrummy! Fruit and pastry = LOVE! Great post! Very pleased to have found your blog through Freshly Pressed. I blog food and recipes too, please stop by!

  56. Ah man, that looks so yummy!

  57. Reblogged this on calmyourbeans and commented:
    This looks amazing!

  58. I can’t get enough of blood oranges–this looks like a great way to enjoy them. Lovely photos.

  59. these look yummy! happy belated pi day!

  60. Looks really good! I will try this recipe. thanks for sharing

  61. Lovely post. Compliments for the good work. Thank you. Greetings from Italy.

  62. wow! Greetings from Berlin

  63. Very nice recipe… I like it.

    Its something similar, (but quite) that we make at our country…

    We call it “Celeriac Salad” (http://ye-mek.net/2012/03/17/kerevizli-portakal-kanepeleri-kereviz-salatasi/). we try to shoot more and more photos in order to make our recipes can be unterstood by every one… You can check it. I just want everyone taste every taste :)

  64. how weird..i hate maths and everything related to it but this thing with the pi(e) day is simply fabulous… if I ever work with math freaks Ill definitely introduce it! ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 128 other followers

