Potsticker Recipe

Homemade potstickers are the best! Yip and I make them a lot at home and they are great with guests and parties. Back in college, my friends and I would have “wrapping” parties to wrap wontons and potstickers. It’s so interesting to see how different families have different styles of wrapping. We all bring our skills to the table to enjoy cooking and eating together. Making potstickers is not difficult, just a little time consuming if you’re wrapping them by yourself. (That’s why you have helpers!) I’ve never really have a standard recipe to go by because savory cooking is not quite as exact as baking recipes. You can basically mix the meat filling with any variety of vegetable or seafood. Some combinations I’ve added are mushroom, cabbage, chives, shrimp, and even pumpkin! They can be boiled, steamed, pan-fried (potstickers), and freezed. Recently, I made some delicious potstickers and remembered to jot down my ingredients. So I’d like share with you my homemade recipe:)

Pork Potstickers

1 package of potsticker wrappers

1 lb ground pork (I like to ground my own pork)

1 bundle spinach

1 small-sized carrot (julienne)

2 springs green onion (diced)

2 cloves of garlic (minced)

1 tb fresh ginger (minced and mashed)

1 tb corn starch

1 egg

splash of rice wine

salt & white pepper

_______________________________

Filling:

1. Prepare ingredients: julienne carrots (thin and small), diced green onions, mince garlic, mince and mash fresh ginger. Place fresh ingredients in a large bowl with the ground pork.

2. Cook spinach until welted. Squeeze out the juice with a strainer and spoon, cheese cloth, or your hands. Chop cooked spinach into small pieces and add to the bowl.

3. Add seasoning to the bowl of ingredients: cornstarch, salt, pepper, egg and rice wine.

4. Mix everything together.

Wrapping Potstickers:

5. Fill a small bowl with some water. This will act as “glue” to seal your wrapper.

6. Spoon 1 tablespoon of filling onto the center of the wrapper. Use your finger to brush water all around the edges of the wrapper.

7. Bring opposite sides together at one point and pinch in the middle. Pleating only the upper half of the dumpling, make about three pleats on one side going in the direction toward the center. Then repeat with the opposite side, so that the pleats on each sides are pointing towards the middle. You’ll get a nice crescent shape and a flat bottom.  (Stroll down for pictures.) If this is too complicated, you can just sealed the edges tightly.

8. Place your dumpling on a floured surfaced and continue to wrap more.

9. Before you wrap too many, it is a good idea to taste to see whether your filling is seasoned to your liking. Boil a small pot of water and cook a couple of dumplings. Let them cook in boiling water for a few minutes or until they float up. Taste test if you need more salt. If the flavor is good or got the approval of your taste tester, go ahead and finish wrapping your potstickers.

Cooking potstickers:

10. On a non-stick pan, arrange potstickers flat-side down and fill with water just covering the bottom of potstickers.

11. Add 1 tablespoon of oil, turn on high heat and cover with lid.

12. When the water starts to simmer, turn to low heat to steam potstickers.

13. Let the water evaporate and fried til golden brown.

14. Serve with dipping sauce like soy sauce and balsamic vinegar. Enjoy!

Ta-da! Homemade Potstickers!

12 Responses to “Potsticker Recipe”

  1. OH my gosh, how yummy! I love potstickers! Your photos look amazing!! I wish I had the ability to take photos like you :)

  2. Thank you Kat! You are so nice:) Your food stories are so fun and I love Hello Kitty ;)

  3. gonna make these tonight! Thanks for the great tutorial!!!

  4. Wow, these look so professional, I love potstickers, am going to have to try your technique.

  5. These look so great. What did you use for the dipping sauce? I’m guessing Soy Sauce, but I wasn’t sure. When I get gyoza at my favorite teriyaki place here in Seattle, they give me a sauce that looks like Soy Sauce but is sweeter. I always forget to ask them what it is. I’m excited to have a homemade version for the first time though. Yum!

    • At home, I usually dip them in balsamic vinegar or black rice vinegar. I know there are sweeten soy sauce available in the market. Let me know if you find out what kind of sauce the restaurant uses. Have fun making potstickers!

  6. This is great! I have always wanted to make potstickers. Great photos!

  7. I will definately try these. I absolutely love potstickers! Thank you for the recipe

  8. Great step-by-step photos, I’ve always felt intimidate to make potstickers but I eat them all the time I should really just learn to make them, I think now I will.

  9. They look amazingly yummy!!!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 132 other followers

