Macarons

For a week, I’ve been learning to make macarons. After work, I announced that I’m making macaron again and the bf replied, “Macaron, macaron, my face is going to turn into a macaron. ” Well, that’s because he eats all of my creations:) Macarons are so small and delicate, you don’t realized how many you pop into your mouth. They are made with only 4 ingredients: egg whites, ground almonds, powdered sugar and granulated sugar. That’s it.

However, the results of my effort are not great and I even went out to buy a Silpat mat and piping tools to make them right. I started with deflated ones, then burnt ones, overly sweet, and lastly, ones that cracked. To my surprise, I’ve used up my bag of powdered sugar, an ingredient that usually stay in the cupboard for too long. So, I think it is time to stop for awhile and bake something else. If anyone have any tips or easy recipes for macarons, let me know!

I came across this raspberricupcakes\’ piggy macarons and they are so cute! When I’m more experience, I will try her recipe. I only followed her method in assembling the pig. Luckily, I got one shell that looked like a pig. Macarons are very tricky…sigh

I savaged the few macarons that looked good enough for a photo shoot and let my bf eat all the defected ones.

My cat Yun Yun loves to hang out in the kitchen with me:)

4 Comments to “Macarons”

  1. Thanks Rufus! You have such a great food blog! I will try some of your recipes, they look delicious!

  2. More piggies! Those look too good to eat, hehe. You’re such a great baker now, Betty! :)

  3. Thanks Lily! Yep more piggies:) I’m having a pig obsession lately. You’re the great baker! I’m still experimenting, lots of trail and errors. Haha I’m only posting the nice ones.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 128 other followers

